INTERVIEW #13
Petokraka

Belgrade (Serbia) — 14/06/2016

Interview Milica Maksimović and Aleksa Bijelović, Petokraka, Belgrade

By Maïlys Gangloff & Johan Soubise for Learning From Europa project, on 14th June 2016 in Belgrade.

14th of June, one day after our arrival in Belgrade. We are about to meet a very small studio made of two friends, who have almost always lived in the Serbian capital city. We look for their office in a small tree-lined street with several individual houses. We finally find the address where we meet Aleksa Bijelović, who just arrives at the office at the same time. He invites us to enter and to meet his friend and associate, Milica Maksimović. They receive us in a small meeting room with a glass partition and old bricks on the walls.

They share their workspace with graphic designers, a “sister company”, as they call them, they are part of the family. This proximity helps them to be involved in that part of the design scene, which they consider more lively and more creative in Serbia.

IMG_0634

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

“We are always leaning towards the design society, away from the architecture mainstream.”

One of the reasons for this opening to other fields is their criticism of the study process of their faculty at that time. The university in Belgrade was a huge architecture school, closer to an engineering school. So they always wanted to pursue something else, something more, something beyond architecture as a strictly building profession. They took advantage of the few creative projects or classes that they had, to develop other skills. Their first professional engagements were actually graphics and webdesign. Today they still feel the differences in studies between European countries.

Milica Maksimović : There are students who are coming here for practice or internships, from all over Europe actually. And there is such a difference between the students that are from Belgrade and from Serbia, and those from Europe. Actually there were those two students from the same university in the Czech Republic, they were so phenomenal, in the way of behaving themselves as creatives. They were in their first year and they were already so independent, so self-aware. And we really think that it is because of their school, because it is some sort of experimental school. Also the local society, and growing up in a different context, but they have some sort of completely experimental programme, in a way that there is no scheduled exams and no working times, stuff like that. It’s some sort of community, sharing knowledge, sharing space, sharing time. Definitely education is really important.

Aleksa Bijelović : Here, you have the professor as the power unit of the school and you have the students below, and we hate that. It’s all rigid, and the people who are finishing this school, they look for a job, that’s it, what else to do?… it shouldn’t be that way.

IMG_2059_2

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

Both architects, they always try to look critically at their profession, and their experiences led them to avoid most of the time the competition market in Serbia. This position is part of a natural process of project selection.

AB :  We used to be engaged in a couple of public competitions, especially when we were still at school. Soon enough we found out that these types of competitions are pretty much a waste of time and resources. Mostly because there’s a poor possibility that the work and effort invested in the competition would result in a physical realisation. For so many different reasons. However, after all this time we still consider and sometimes do answer to invitational competitions that are paid and actually some of it does get built after all.

Being open to other fields, and not considering architecture as a closed up profession, allowed them to grow step by step. They started with many different things, from many different disciplines, like graphic and web design, exhibition design, then interior design and furniture design, and everything “in-between”. One thing always leads to another, but everything is still equally important for them, small or big, whereas many architects or designers consider small projects just as a starting point until bigger things. They treat all projects with the same approach, the same intensity of work, the same intensity of talks. Starting with very small things, small assignments, they remained patient, without expecting something more or something bigger. Keeping their activity low and local in a sense of exposure, without high expectations, was maybe the only decision they made for the evolution of their company.

“We are really trying not to be too exposed, that is mainly the problem with design studios all over the world, because you become a brand of some kind of things. I think that the creativity suffers when you are not as small as you were at the beginning.”

IMG_0615

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

Their work and the studio evolve with a very natural process, taking things as they come, going with the flow. Commissions always came from personal recognitions, personal experiences with previous clients that are just spreading the word. This natural process applies itself also to their daily work, made of intuitions and flexibility.

AB : We are not structured at all, we don’t have working time strategy, we are not open from or until precise hours… If we don’t feel like working, we just take a couple of days off, or if needed, we can work for a couple of days and nights.

MM : I think that it is our student habits that we sort of pursue on and on.

AB : Sometimes people are trying to tell us that it’s a bit wrong…

MM : Yes, I guess people have a problem with unconventional style or approach in business.

AB : Yes, but we don’t even consider our work as a business, and actually when you say “business”, it is really serious. But yet, it is a business.

The words “company” or “business” seem to be out of step with their philosophy. They can not imagine working with employees. If they have to integrate a third person in the studio, it would be someone who will work with them and not for them, in accordance with their attachment to independence as a studio, but also as individual creative minds.

“We are acting to be a “normal” company, like we are the bosses… But we hate to be the bosses, we hate to tell someone what to do, when to do it, and what to do next.”

IMG_2060

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

Their evolution, even intuitive or going with the flow, has always been in reaction to the overall context in Serbia. If today they look at the architecture scene from aside, it is probably because they found in this position a solution to reconcile their own attraction to other fields and the necessity of having projects to survive as a studio. After 2000 and the fall of Milošević’s regime, private funding really increased, until the economic crisis around 2008, when everything crumbled. The impact was huge, especially in a small architecture society like Serbia, because of the very small number of open possibilities. So when all the big money went out, all the huge projects stopped, and many architecture studios shut down due to that problem. Doing small things, that does not require big funding or big infrastructure, was definitely a way to avoid the collapse. And enjoying those small projects as much as bigger things leads them to see this crisis more as an opportunity rather than just a negative thing. It helped them, maybe unconsciously, to build their own approach and to find their place in this profession. This is a point of view that they try to spread to the young generation.

AB : I worked for six years as teaching assistant at the faculty and I was always trying to tell the students “be independent, be yourself, don’t look for a job, there is no job actually, this crisis is a great thing because you can’t even find a job so make your own job, make your own life…”.

MM : So what we always tell all young people is to never give up and to try to make a position for themselves to work independently, it is really hard, but that’s the best place you can be, in our personal opinion.

AB : You know, to be really independent, I think that is to be free. Don’t ever get a job! You can try, you should try, but you should never get a job as a life goal, never ever! Don’t work for anyone, always work for yourself, the money is at the last place.

IMG_2068

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

We also find this intuitive approach and this acceptance of the unexpected in their way of carrying their projects. For them, the most important part of the process is the creative part, the first phase, the time when everything is still uncertain, vague, and when the concept is defined little by little. They try to extend this period as much a they can, not doing concrete stuff, but just thinking about the problem, talking about it, ping-ponging ideas.

AB : As a creative being you always need to visualize something at first, I think, and we learnt that it could really be a problem if you do something before the right time of doing that. I think that doing these talks and thoughts, we are just building up the machine, we are building up the system, and then the realisation is very short, when you sit down and draw and make models and design and try things in 3D models, we are trying to shortened this part of the process as much as we can, the actual producing of drawings, producing of images…

MM : Yes, that part, that is the end of that creative phase. And if we have time we always really like to – after we finished some visualizations or drawings – try to have a couple of days completely off, and then go back to that and rethink it again, just looking at what we did and wondering if we still like it or not?

Time seems to be an essential factor in their process, which is rather intuitive than structured, but this time let them feel things and adapt to situations. During the construction phase, they like to go on-site, look at things, feel things, change details according to some discoveries made during demolition for example. They are always trying to fix, to adjust things, giving its own life to the project, which is always a bit different once executed than it was on the drawings. This is not something unusual, and we saw this way of carrying construction in many other countries in Europe, but they try to see the local context and its dysfunctions as an advantage to push it a bit further.

IMG_2077

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

“We really like the projects where something goes wrong actually, and it shut down because of the funding for example, but shut down not like forever, just paused, so there is no deadline…”

To illustrate it, they take us on one of their project sites, under construction. It was supposed to be open a couple of months ago when we went there, and it had already been under construction for a year. This delay gave them the opportunity to really think and re-think every details of the interior. They knew the client well, and it was quite easy for them to communicate with him, and to make him accept their way of working, because they already worked with him on a previous project. They always try to push the limits if they have the opportunity and to experiment things, materials, so that they often think that their proposal is going to be rejected.

“We are always going intentionally harder than we should, and maybe than we would.”

They are amused by some situation that they met with clients who did not understand the seriousness of their proposals, thinking that it is not going to be like this in the end, and finally get surprised by the result. Trying not to do stuff which provokes no reaction is one of their goal. For example, they like to highlight materials that suffer from a bad reputation in Serbia, materials from the seventies or the eighties, considered outdated by people, and often associated to some periods of Serbian history and collective memory. On the building site, they show us the terrazzo on the staircase and a wooden floor, that used to be applied in big housing programmes during the socialist regime.
They are trying, at their level, to make the way people see the construction evolve, and to open some ways to unconventional thinking, even if it is hard to be understood, at least for now.

IMG_2092

Photo credits : Learning From Europa

“I hope that we could stay as we are, independent and small, but I really hope that we could be a bit different in a natural way, to evolve to something different, not something else, stay the same, stay small, but maybe new experiences, like working in different locations, countries… But actually if nothing changes, I think that we would be really happy, but I think that it is impossible, because in our experience, in the last fifteen years of our work, nothing ever stayed the same, it is such a learning process, every day we learn something new, and it’s exciting.”

cvece-zla-petokraka-02

Bistrot Les Fleurs du Mal, Belgrade, Serbia, © petokraka / Photo credits : Relja Ivanic

INTERVIEW #13
Petokraka

Belgrade (Serbie) — 14/06/2016

Interview Milica Maksimović et Aleksa Bijelović, Petokraka, Belgrade

Propos recueillis par Maïlys Gangloff et Johan Soubise pour Learning From Europa, le 14.06.2016 à Belgrade.

14 juin, le lendemain de notre arrivée à Belgrade. Nous nous apprêtons à rencontrer un petit studio formé par deux amis, habitants de la capitale serbe depuis toujours. Nous arpentons la petite rue arborée à la recherche de leur agence, en longeant une série de maisons individuelles. Nous trouvons finalement l’adresse où nous retrouvons Aleksa Bijelović, qui arrive au bureau en même temps que nous. Il nous invite à entrer et nous présente à son amie et associée, Milica Maksimović. Ils nous reçoivent dans leur petite salle de réunion aux murs en vieille briques laissées apparentes et fermée d’une cloison vitrée.

Ils partagent leur espace de travail avec des designers graphiques, une “société soeur”, comme ils l’appellent, ils font partie de la famille. Cette proximité leur permet de s’impliquer aussi dans ce domaine du design, qu’ils trouvent particulièrement dynamique et créatif en Serbie.

IMG_0634

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

“Nous nous tournons toujours vers les champs du design, pour nous éloigner de l’architecture conventionnelle.”

Une des raisons de cette ouverture vers d’autres domaines réside dans leur regard critique sur le système éducatif de leur faculté. L’université de Belgrade était une énorme école d’architecture, plus proche d’une école d’ingénieur. Ils ont donc toujours souhaité entreprendre quelque chose d’autre, quelque chose en plus, quelque chose au-delà de l’architecture comme une profession strictement de construction. Ils ont tiré profit du peu d’enseignements créatifs qu’ils avaient pour développer d’autres compétences. Leur premiers engagements professionnels furent finalement des travaux de graphisme et de web design. Aujourd’hui, ils mesurent encore les différences dans les études entre les pays européens.

Milica Maksimović : Il y a des étudiants qui viennent ici pour des stages, de toute l’Europe en fait. Et il y a une telle différence entre les étudiants de Belgrade et de Serbie en générale, et ceux d’autres pays européens. Une fois, nous avons eu deux étudiants de la même université en République Tchèque. Ils étaient incroyables, dans leur manière de se comporter en tant que créatifs. Ils étaient seulement en première année mais déjà tellement indépendants et conscients de leur potentiel. Et nous pensons vraiment que c’est grâce à leur école, qui est une sorte d’école expérimentale. La société et le contexte dans lequel ils ont grandi jouent aussi, mais ils avaient une sorte de programme complètement expérimental, dans le sens où il n’y a pas d’emploi du temps, pas d’examens fixes, ce genre de choses. C’est une sorte de communauté, partageant leurs connaissances, leur temps, l’espace… Définitivement, l’éducation est très importante.

Aleksa Bijelović : Ici tu as le professeur comme principale autorité et les étudiants en-dessous, et nous détestons ça. C’est tellement fermé, tellement rigide, et les gens qui sortent de cette école, ils cherchent un travail, point. Que faire d’autres?… C’est triste à dire, parce que ça ne devrait pas marcher comme ça.

IMG_2059_2

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

Tous deux architectes, ils tentent de porter un regard critique sur leur profession. Leurs expériences les ont conduits à éviter la plupart du temps le marché des concours en Serbie. Cette position s’inclut dans un processus assez naturel et spontané de sélection des projets.

AB :  Nous avons participé à quelques concours publics, notamment lorsque nous étions encore à l’école. Mais nous avons réalisé rapidement que ces genres de concours étaient surtout une perte de temps et de moyens. Principalement à cause de la très faible probabilité que le travail et les efforts investis aboutissent à une réalisation physique… Et ce pour beaucoup de raisons différentes. Toutefois, après tout ce temps, il nous arrive encore d’envisager de répondre à des invitations à des concours restreints, qui sont rémunérés, et parfois nous le faisons. Et en fait, il arrive que quelques uns finissent par être réalisés.

Rester ouverts à d’autres domaines et ne pas considérer l’architecture comme une profession fermée leur a permis de grandir petit à petit. Ils ont débuté avec des choses très variées, comme le graphisme, le webdesign, la scénographie d’exposition, l’architecture intérieure, le mobilier, et tout ce qui pouvait être au croisement de ces disciplines. Une chose menant toujours à une autre, tous les projets ont encore la même importance à leurs yeux, petit ou gros, quand beaucoup d’architectes ou de designers voient les petits projets uniquement comme un moyen de débuter, avant d’en obtenir de plus gros. Tout est traité avec la même implication, la même intensité de travail, de discussions. Ils ont débuté avec de petites choses, des petites missions, en restant patients, sans aspirer à tout prix à quelque chose de plus grand. C’est peut-être la seule “stratégie” qu’ils tentent d’appliquer pour le développement de leur studio : garder leur activité locale et à une petite échelle en terme d’exposition et de communication.

“On essaye vraiment de ne pas être trop exposés, c’est le principal problème des agences de design autour du monde, parce que tu deviens vite une sorte de marque. Je pense que la créativité en souffre, quand tu ne restes pas aussi petit qu’à tes débuts.”

IMG_0615

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

Leur travail et leur agence évoluent suivant un processus naturel, en prenant les choses comme elles viennent, en suivant le courant. Leurs commandent viennent les unes après les autres, souvent par le bouche à oreille. Ce processus naturel s’applique aussi à leur travail quotidien et leur manière de faire, faite d’intuitions et d’adaptation.

AB : Nous ne sommes pas du tout structuré, nous n’avons pas de stratégie de répartition du temps de travail, pas d’horaires fixes… Si on ne se sent pas de travailler, on prend juste quelques jours off, ou si il le faut, on travaille jour et nuit pendant un temps.

MM : Je pense que ce sont nos habitudes étudiantes que l’on poursuit d’une certaine manière.

AB : Parfois les gens essayent de nous dire que l’on fait fausse route…

MM : Oui, j’imagine que les gens ont du mal avec les approches non conventionnelles dans les affaires.

AB : Oui, mais on ne considère même pas notre travail comme une affaire, en fait quand on dit “affaire”, c’est vraiment trop sérieux. Même si finalement c’en est une…

Les mots “entreprises” ou “affaire” semblent en décalage avec leur philosophie. Il n’imaginent pas travailler avec des employés. S’il doivent un jour intégrer une troisième personne au studio, ce sera quelqu’un qui travaillera avec eux, et non pour eux, en accord avec leur attachement à l’indépendance en tant que studio, mais aussi en tant qu’individu ou qu’esprit créatif.

“Nous agissons comme une entreprise “normale”, comme nous en sommes les patrons… Mais on déteste être des patrons, on déteste dire à quelqu’un quoi faire, quand le faire et que faire ensuite.”

IMG_2060

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

Intuitive et portée par le courant des événements, leur évolution a néanmoins toujours été en réaction au contexte global en Serbie. Si aujourd’hui ils observent la scène architecturale depuis l’extérieur, c’est probablement car ils ont trouvé dans cette position un moyen de concilier leur attrait pour d’autres disciplines et la nécessité d’avoir des projets pour survivre en tant qu’agence. À partir des années 2000 et la chute du régime de Milošević, les financements privés ont fortement augmentés, jusqu’à la crise autour de 2008, où tout s’est écroulé. L’impact a été immense, particulièrement pour une petite économie comme la Serbie, à cause du nombre déjà faible de possibilités. Quand les gros sous sont partis, tous les gros projets se sont arrêtés, entraînant la fermeture de nombreuses agences d’architecture. Faire de petites choses, qui ne requièrent pas de gros financements ou de grosses infrastructures, a véritablement été une manière d’éviter la chute. Cela les a même mené à voir cette crise comme une opportunité plutôt qu’une chose négative, car ils appréciaient ces petits projets autant que les gros. La crise a participé, peut-être indirectement, à la construction de leur propre approche et les a aidé à trouver leur place dans cette profession. C’est un point de vu qu’ils tentent de diffuser auprès de la jeune génération.

AB : J’ai travaillé pendant six ans comme assistant à la faculté, et j’essayais toujours de dire aux étudiants “soyez indépendants, soyez vous-même, ne cherchez pas de travail, il n’y en a pas de toute façon, cette crise est formidable parce que vous ne pouvez pas trouver de travail, donc inventez votre propre travail, votre propre vie…”.

MM : Donc ce que l’on dit toujours aux plus jeunes, c’est de ne jamais abandonner, de prendre des décisions pour eux-même, pour travailler de manière indépendante, c’est très dur, certes, mais c’est la meilleur position dans laquelle ils peuvent se retrouver, selon nous.

AB : Vous savez, être indépendant ça veut dire être libre. Ne cherchez pas un emploi! Vous pouvez essayer, vous devriez même, mais ne faite pas d’un emploi un objectif de vie, jamais! Ne travaillez pas pour quelqu’un d’autre, faite le toujours pour vous même, l’argent est la dernière des considérations.

IMG_2068

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

On retrouve aussi cette approche intuitive et cette acceptation de l’inattendu dans leur manière de mener leur projets. Pour eux, la phase la plus importante d’un projet est la phase créative, la première approche, quand tout est encore un peu vague, incertain, et que le concept se dessine petit à petit. Il essayent toujours d’étirer cette période autant que possible, sans faire des choses concrètes, seulement pour penser au problème posé, en parler, échanger des idée.

AB : En tant que personne créative, tu as toujours un besoin de visualisation, je crois ; et on a appris que ça pouvait être un réel problème de faire quelque chose avant le juste temps pour le faire. Je pense qu’en ayant ces réflexions et ces discussions, on met en route la machine, on construit le système ; et ensuite la réalisation est très rapide, quand on s’assoit pour dessiner, faire des maquettes, des tests en 3D, on essaye de réduire au maximum cette partie du processus, la production de dessins, d’images…

MM : Oui, cette partie arrive à la fin de cette phase créative. et si nous avons le temps, nous aimons vraiment – après avoir produit quelques dessins ou images – prendre quelques jours de congé, et ensuite y revenir, pour y repenser, juste en regardant ce qu’on a fait et voir si l’on aime toujours, ou pas.

Le temps semble être un facteur essentiel de leur processus, plus intuitif que structuré, mais ce temps leur permet de sentir les choses, et de s’adapter aux situations. Durant la phase de construction, ils aiment aller sur le chantier, regarder, sentir les choses, changer quelques détails en fonction des découvertes faites pendant la démolition par exemple. Ils sont toujours en train de préciser, d’ajuster quelque chose, donnant sa vie propre au projet, qui est toujours un peu différent une fois construit qu’il ne l’était sur les dessins. Cela n’a rien d’inhabituel, et nous avons pu rencontrer beaucoup d’autres agences en Europe qui partageaient la même manière de mener un chantier, mais ils tentent de voir le contexte local et ses problèmes comme une opportunité de pousser cela encore un peu plus loin.

IMG_2077

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

“Nous aimons beaucoup les projets où quelque chose bloque, et le projet est arrêté, à cause des financements par exemple, mais pas définitivement, juste en pause, comme ça on n’a pas de deadline…”

Pour illustrer cela, ils nous emmènent sur un de leur chantier en cours. Le lieu était censé être ouvert depuis plus de deux mois lorsque nous y sommes allés, et le chantier avait débuté depuis près d’un an. Ce temps leur a permis de penser et repenser chaques détails de l’intérieur. Ils connaissaient bien le client, il a été assez facile de communiquer avec lui et de lui faire accepter leur manière de travailler, car ils avaient déjà travaillé avec lui sur un précédent projet. Ils tentent toujours de pousser le projet le plus loin possible si l’occasion se présente, et d’expérimenter de nouvelles choses, à tel point qu’ils pensent souvent que leur proposition va être rejetée.

“Nous allons toujours volontairement plus loin que ce que l’on devrait, et peut-être que ce que l’on voudrait.”

Ils s’amusent de certaines situations qu’ils ont connues avec des clients qui ne comprenaient pas le sérieux de leurs propositions, pensant que ça ne serait pas réellement comme ça une fois construit, et qui finissaient par être surpris par le résultat. Essayer de faire des choses qui ne laissent pas indifférent est un de leurs objectifs. Ils aiment par exemple mettre en valeur des matériaux qui souffrent d’une mauvaise réputation en Serbie, des matériaux issus des années soixante-dix ou quatre-vingt, considéré comme dépassés, et souvent associés à des périodes de l’Histoire ou de la mémoire collective du pays. Ils essayent, à leur échelle, de faire évoluer le regard que les gens portent sur la construction, et d’ouvrir des voies vers une conception moins conventionnelle, mais c’est difficilement reçu, du moins pour l’instant.

IMG_2092

Crédits photo : Learning From Europa

“J’espère que nous resterons tels que nous sommes, petits et indépendants, mais j’espère vraiment que nous pourrons évoluer un peu, de manière naturelle, vers quelque chose de différent, pas quelques chose d’autre, en restant les mêmes, en restant petits, mais peut-être de nouvelles expériences, comme travailler dans d’autres pays… Si rien ne change, nous serons aussi très contents, même si je pense que c’est impossible, ces quinze dernières années ont été un tel processus d’apprentissage, chaque jour on apprend quelque chose, c’est très excitant.”

cvece-zla-petokraka-02

Bistrot Les Fleurs du Mal, Belgrade, Serbie, © petokraka / Crédits photo : Relja Ivanic